My first marilyn monroe painting

 

First I’d like to say that it’s easier for me to paint landscapes… but I decided to give a try to a person.

The first and last time I painted on a canvas, it was when I was about 7 or 8 years old at art class during school. I remember what I painted: two trees on a sunset… or sunrise, and my mother hung on the wall. She said it looked great for my age, and I liked that painting.

So, we are talking about years since I painted on canvas and the difference from a landscape to a person.

I am still trying to make my sketches more professional, but I’ve been having some ideas, and today I bought some material for other type of art.

I picked this picture of Marilyn as a base

FB_IMG_1425727099960

But I decided to paint it differently, because it is my first time painting a person, and I wanted to try something else

20150307_180822

This is the drawing on the canvas already… delayed for me to copy, by the way and I thought about casting away as soon as I finished, but then my mother told me to go till the end to see how it would be… and that’s the result

20150307_183516

20150307_183516

(Hung on my wall…)

I still felt frustrated… I missed some details of her mouth and etc (I thought I had the right paintbrush somewhere, but turned out I should have bought it), so her mouth didn’t look like I had thought.

My mother told me, trying to comfort me, that nobody paints a masterpiece in the first tentative… and I know that’s truth, but I still felt strange, but happy I tried and finished it.

I never attended a course to try learn about shadows and etc, mostly I watch some tutorials on youtube to get some ideas, that’s why I picked this style to see how it would be and also to be able to paint a person, but of course that’s easier for me with details on a piece of paper.

It’s still hanging on my wall, drying and I shall watch some tutorials and get more colors to start once again… probably a landscape, because now that I tried to paint a person, I want to try a landscape again, once on the canvas was easy for me to do it so.

I will only paint Marilyn, or another actress again, when I have the right paintbrush, because I can’t believe I thought I had it, and didn’t and once I am anxious and impatient… I didn’t feel like waiting until Monday to get it.

When we work hard we get to achieve what we want, and even if I have to paint 10 until I get to achieve what I want, I will get to paint a nice art of Marilyn.

 

I appreciate you stopping by one more time!

Leave a comment